How We Will Use this Blog (Updated)

I believe the class officially starts June 30. I will post Lesson 1 by then, with other lessons following. Read the lessons and pay attention to any instructions at the end. In the meantime, you might introduce yourself. If you are a member of the class, you will be made an “author,” which means you can write a new post, and edit your own posts. You can also post comments on the posts of others. At your convenience, write a post telling a little bit about yourself, and greet others when they write their introductory posts.

Another thing you might do is read the posts by Chris Tilling on the OT Theology by Goldingay. I am using that as a textbook for another class I am teaching (Biblical Theology) this summer in Manhattan, Kansas. It is not a textbook for BIOT500, but you might find the reviews interesting.

Just click on the links in the post below (e.g., 1 of 5). You might also try out the links to the other Bible blogs. See the Blogroll on the right.

A textbook we will be using for BIOT 500 is Incarnation and Incarnation by Peter Enns. You can see my remarks about Enns and his book here. Dr. Enns has his own blog here.

Related to the historical study of the Bible, you might also wish to read my reviews of F. F. Bruce’s autobiography here and here.

One Response

  1. Hello:
    My name is Dan Cooper. I am the minister of Outreach and Evangelism at the Gateway Church in Saint Albans, WV. I am working toward the CMMN degree at KCU and have just this OT class and the NT class to go. Oh, and then there is the thesis also. I may still decide to take one more online class and do the comp exam, but I like the idea of the thesis. I’ve been married to my wife for 25 years (Silver) and we have a 23 year old and a 10 year old. Yes, God has a sense of humor. I’m way too busy to be taking this class, but I’m sure I’ll find a way to get a lot out of it. So, do you suppose we will be learning the Hebrew language in this class? I’m working on the coloring pages – that’s more my style. I look forward to getting to know each of you through this blog and to meeting you on campus in August.
    Dan

Leave a Reply

