This week’s reading

After reading this week’s assignment in JSB I have been thinking about how “sheltered” I have allowed myself to become in ministry.  So much of what I read and study come from points of view not to far off from my own.  There may be new ideas or insights, but it normally comes from the same basic worldview.  Reading and rereading some of the comments today caused me to take some time to think what do I think about that and how would I respond if I were sitting across the table sharing a Coke with the author.  I will be transparent enough to admit a lot of this is new to me.

(Tim S. – thanks for your sympathy for those of us with young ones.  I just has to go look for a pacifier in the dark to quiet down our youngest – but now I’m back 🙂 )

As far as Enns’ book, I’ve only made it about a third of the way through Chapter 2.  I am not sure about the rest of you, but I really appreciated the comparison he makes between the incarnation of Christ and the human/divine elements of the revelation of Scripture.  No analogy is perfect by any means, but it is a helpful illustration to me as I think about the Bible’s origin and how is it that the “word of God” was written by God-chosen men.  I’m definitely ready to dive into this class (especially now that my final week of church camp is over!).

Change of subject – I apologize in advance if this isn’t the place for this, but I would appreciate any prayers you can offer on behalf of the Dan Guy Family.  Dan was one of our elders who died in an accident while test driving a motorcycle in a school parking lot and going no more than 15 mph.  No one is sure what caused him to lose control but he hit a curb and was thrown from the bike.  It is very hard on our church and on my family – he and his wife sort of filled the role of grandparents for my girls since we are so far away from our parents.  He had a wife of 33 years and two kids in their twenties.  Spent a lot of time last week with the family and our Sr. Minister and I did the funeral on Friday.  It’s been really hard and I would appreciate your prayers.

One Response

  1. Bryan, I was sorry to hear about Dan Guy. I remember them from when I attended church there. Phil Barton is a close friend of mine, and he called me the day after it happened and we talked for about an hour. He really thought a lot of Dan, and was upset about it all. We will certainly pray for the entire church family and his family. I’m sure it’s a big disappointment for your family, too.

Leave a Reply

