Grandpa and the Girls…

Grandpa and the girls...

I posted this earlier as a comment but I thought I’d bring it to the front page so to speak!

By way of introduction, I am Senior Minister at the First Church of Christ in Wheelersburg, Ohio and have been for almost 7 years now. This is my first preaching ministry as I worked in the computer industry for the first 23 years after receiving my Bachelor’s in Electronics almost 30 years ago…

I’ve been married for 31 years to my very patient and understanding wife, Brenda, and we have two married sons, Aaron and Matthew. Aaron and his wife have provided us with two beautiful granddaughters, Felicity (4) and Jacquelyn (1 1/2) Matthew serves as my youth minister here in Wheelersburg.

I have loved old cars and trucks for most of my life and that’s why I have described my wife as “patient”. When I have the time (which is almost never!) I enjoy getting out and tinkering with an old ’51 Chevy pickup that I bought for $50 when I was a Senior in high school. I occasionally have to remind my wife that I have had it longer that I have had her! (joke…) I also enjoy reading and photography.

I’m looking forward to the class and meeting everyone, though I have had a class with a few of the other folks already and anticipate renewing our friendship. If not before, I’ll see everyone on campus in August!

BTW, John-Boy had a nice Model A coupe!  🙂

Randy

6 Responses

  1. OK, I will chime in as the young one that only remembers the Waltons from tv shows that crack fun at them…and the more recent insurance commercial.

    Randy, good to see you back for another class. Hope all is well. One of these days you and I will be done with this higher educations stuff…but then we will probably just find another degree or subject and start again.

    Either way, take care and see you in August.
    Brian

  2. If we are not careful we will get into a grandpa bragging contest–but grandparents are entitled to brag.

    Welcome to the class.

  3. Looking forward to working in another class with you and meeting you in person in August. We were in the Leadership on line class with Dr. Wood in 2009. We shared the “Hoosier” alliance if my memory serves me well.

  4. Hope you have had a solution to the problem of the tombstone in the front of your church. that is a classic issue. I enjoyed you in the preaching class and look forward to seeing you again. I am going to be a grandpa again in September. It is great.

  5. Hey Randy- you look like a proud grandpa in that photo!

    I’ve heard you say before that you have always loved old cars and trucks. Do you know anything about a cruise-in they have in Wheelersburg? Someone told be that it has grown into a big event. I’d like to check it out sometime.

    • Hi Kevin,

      The cruise-in you speak of is now being held in New Boston, Ohio–just up the road from the ‘Burg. It had been held for many years at the local McDonalds, but this year they only held two–because the McDonalds restaurant has been torn down!

      The owners are putting up a new building and it won’t be ready until sometime in October.

      I look forward to seeing you on the ninth of August…

      Randy

Leave a Reply

