Cathy Hawkins

My husband and I are inside a reconstructed "4-room house", a typical dwelling during the Iron Age.

I am a mother of 4 children, 3 girls and 1 boy, ages 11 – 3. I am returning to school after being out of college for almost 20 years. (Funny, I don’t know how I became middle-aged!) I graduated from Lipscomb University (Nashville, TN) in 1991 with a major in English. While at Lipscomb, I was baptized, met and married my husband of 20 years, and learned to love the Bible and the church. My husband, Ralph Hawkins, is a professor of Biblical Studies at KCU. (I might be biased, but I definitely recommend his classes!) He has been a pastor for 16 of those years.

My emphasis in the master’s program is biblical backgrounds.  I have gotten to take several archaeology classes that have been very interesting. I went with the KCU group (undergrad and grad) to Jordan this May to participate in a dig at Tall Jallul. It was a really wonderful experience.

I am looking forward to interacting with all of you via internet and during our week on campus.

4 Responses

  1. Welcome Cathy,

    I just finished a class via independent study with your husband, it was very enjoyable. I am quite jealous of your time oversees as I have always wanted to go. However, like many things, time and money are always short. I look forward to getting to know you,

    See you in August.
    Brian

  2. Cathy,
    Welcome to the class. Thanks for sharing the photo. I have been trying to convince my wife into downsizing… maybe I can get the measurements on the four room house sometime? Looking forward to meeting you in August.
    Byron

  3. Cathy,

    Welcome! It sounds like you will bring some unique experiences to the class. It will keep me on my toes, knowing your husband is a professor of biblical studies at KCU and you can check out what I tell you in class.

    My wife has taken a couple of my classes; She took such good notes I copied them and gave to other students who missed a class session. She came with me to Grayson two years ago, but just started a new job and won’t be able to make it this year.

    Blessings,

    Dr. Alterman

  4. Cathy, you are not middle aged. I was already out of college for 16 years in 1991. I am middle aged your a youngster. I am happy you got to go to the Middle East. I have always wanted to go to the Holy Land but never have made it. Guess i will just have to wait for the New Jerusalem to come down. I look forward to seeing you.

Leave a Reply

