Introducing myself

My name is Olga (Olya) Viktorova; I’m from Ukraine (Eastern Europe). I guess I am the only international student for this class.  I graduated from Crimean-American College (Ukraine), BA in Philology. After graduation I taught English at the college for two years sharing with my secular students my Christian worldview. At the same time I took biblical courses at the Commonwealth International University (Ukraine) and then online courses at KCU. After completing MA program I will be able to teach Bible too.

I also have been in the praise and worship team in my church for 12 years, I play the piano. Very often I work as a translator in Christian summer camps for orphans. These camps are organized by different international missions (Hopeful Hearts, Orphans Hope, Samaritan’s Purse. etc). I also enjoy reading and hiking.

I am looking forward to the on-campus sessions as they would be my first experience to be in the classroom with students not from the former Soviet Union.

5 Responses

  1. Welcome Olga,

    I look forward to getting to know you. Because of your history I am sure you will be able to add a unique contribution to our class, which always it neat.

    And, with all the people who enjoy the outdoors as listed in their introduction, we ought to all get together for a hike or something like it some evening after class

  2. Welcome Olga! You have a wonderful life story. I look forward to meeting you and getting to know you better. Cathy

  3. Olga,
    Welcome! Looking forward to meeting you during the on campus session and learning more of your Eastern European background and work with secular students. My cultural concentration in undergraduate studies was on the Soviet Union – Pre “former Soviet”. (I guess I am dating myself a little ). See you in August.
    Byron

  4. Brian, I’m for hiking. I might bring my bicycle too–anyone else going to bring a bike along?

    Olya,

    Welcome! I spent a few weeks in Eastern Europe about two years ago–Prague and Lithuania. My colleague Wes Paddock has been to the Ukraine. I look forward to meeting you.

    Dr. Alterman

  5. I attended a class at Lincoln Christian Seminary and we had a student from Poland in class. She added a great deal of input from a different perspective as I know you will too. I look forward to hearing of your story and pray we will have a great week in class.

Leave a Reply

