The Bible on One Page

Bible on One Page

Bible on One Page '08

New Testament on One Page

Above are two examples of “The Bible on One Page.”

The second is actually the “New Testament on One Page.”  I have used this assignment before on a Critical Introduction to the New Testament course.

The Assignment for BIOT500 at KCU is a creative assignment.  You have the responsibility to choose what information you think is important and how to present it.  I suggest you use the textbook, Old Testament Introduction, but you are free to use any additional resources you choose.

The Visual Aid should be one you could use in teaching to give a historical overview of the Bible.  You should show what the essence of each book is and how the books fit together and relate to each other.

Here are some other examples: I have had students use a large map of the Bible world and pin little flags on it with information about books, authors, etc.

Some of the information I think is important includes the following:

Date of events in the book (or fitting events on a time line), date of writing or final editing of the book, genre and literary features, theme or main idea; canonical grouping; e.g. Law, Prophets, Writings; or Law, History, Poetry, Prophets.

How would you display this information:

Amos, Hosea, Isaiah, and Micah all lived in the 8th century before Christ–the century when the Assyrian Empire threatened Judah (the Southern Kingdom) and eventually destroyed the Northern Kingdom in 722 BC.  Isaiah and Micah were from Judah in the South and prophesied to Judah.  Hosea was from Israel and prophesied to Israel.  Amos journeyed up north from Judah to Israel and prophesied to the Northern Kingdom.  Amos and Hosea gave the final warning to Israel.  All of these prophets emphasized faithfulness to God and justice and compassion to one’s neighbors.  They condemned idolatry, which they considered spiritual adultery; and they condemned oppression and injustice.

Later, at the end of the 7th century, Ezekiel and Jeremiah, borrowed Hosea’s marriage and adultery imagery as a way of portraying Judah’s spiritual condition.

The prophets used visual aids.  They even used their family’s as dramatic or visual aids.  Isaiah and Hosea gave symbolic names to their children.  Jeremiah’s single-status, and Ezekiel’s loss of his wife had symbolic meanings.

The prophets used vivid poetic images: Amos and his plumb line, Ezekiel and his organic bread, Isaiah’s image of people beating their swords into plowshares and of the wolf lying down with the lamb . . .

That’s a lot of information–you don’t have to use all of it–but there are many creative ways you could present it.

My wife and I once made a project to teach the books of the Bible to elementary-aged kids.  We made a little bookshelf and then used blocks of wood  (Approx 1″ X 3″ X 4″) and labeled them.  We also color-coded the different divisions: law, prophets, etc.

Share your ideas with each other!

6 Responses

  1. My name is Chad Broaddus. I am new to the “blogging” scene. I am not sure where I am supposed to post my personal information, but I thought I could start here. I am 25 years old and serve as the senior minister of Indian Creek Christian Church in Cynthiana, Kentucky. I have served in this position since October 2007. Before coming to Indian Creek, I served as the weekend minister of Bethel Christian Church in Richmond, Kentucky. In May of 2007, I graduated from Johnson Bible College with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Bible/Preaching. In August of that same year, I enrolled as seminary student at Cincinnati Christian University. In May of 2009, I received a Master of Arts in Religion degree with a concentration in Church History. My goal, after finishing my coursework at KCU, is to pursue the Doctor of Ministry degree at Ashland Theological Seminary.
    I am married to the beautiful Allison (Runyons) Broaddus and we currently do not have children. Both of us have a sincere love for Christ and his Church. I believe that the Old Testament is extremely important for many reasons, but primarily because it points to Christ. Though I am not as well-versed in the Old Testament as I am in the New Testament, I love preaching and teaching from it. I am currently in the middle of sermon series based on the book of Haggai. I know that this class will help expand my knowledge of Old Testament backgrounds and guide me in Old Testament research practices. I look forward to meeting all of you in the “in-class” sessions. I am starting this class a little late, so I hope to get caught up soon.

  2. Welcome Chad. Have you “joined” wordpress yet, so that you can post directly?

  3. This makes the assignment make so much more sense. Thank you for clarifying. It sounds like fun now that i understand what the goal really is…

  4. I look forward to seeing your creativity at work, Amanda.

  5. I was thinking of doing something to what the girl in the picture did, only not with spanish and making it more kid friendly so that I can use it in the future. Is that cool? I was going to include the canonical grouping and then next to each of those have little scrolls with each of the books with author, date, theme and location. Would that work?

    Also thanks for the examples, because that helped to clarify greatly what you were saying, because all I could picture was a rigid chart and kids would get really bored with that. For me, I want this to be something that I can use in the future.

  6. Making it kid friendly sounds very cool.

Leave a Reply

