The Jones

My name is Ian Jones, and I often use a definite article in my name because, really, why not?  My username is based out of Revelation 2:17 and, yes, it is Hebrew.  I’m interested to know what any Hebrew scholars in this class will make of it.  I have gone by many names because I love names.  I love to know what they mean, what they come from, how they developed.  I have already very carefully chosen names for my yet-unconceived children.  Names are probably the main reason why I love learning languages.  That, and I consider myself a philologist.

I was conceived on a mission in Zambia, so my parents and older sister came back to America and I was born in Indiana.  I spent the better part of my childhood in the country outside of Paint Lick, KY.  I can’t say for sure that it was the larger part, but it was definitely better.  I moved to Bourbonnais, IL for a few years and then to Clifton during my teenage years.  I then came back to Kentucky for college, and I hope I can stay here for a long time.

My favorite authors are J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and Ted Dekker.  I prefer novels by Christian authors over commentaries.  I’m working on a novel right now, along the vein of my favorite authors.  My musical tastes range from Josh Turner to Demon Hunter.  I play guitar, but if I had to choose, I would rather sing (but doing both at once is really fun!)  I like all kinds of movies, and play a very limited range of video games.

Currently, I live in Grayson with my wife Katherine (also in this class), and our home is always a comfortable, spacious mess.  We were just married at the beginning of this summer.  I work in the kitchen at Callihan’s Pub and Grill, and she works at the Child Development Center.  We’re waiting a while before we have kids.

I have two kilts, one traditional and one modern, and I am hoping to get a few more, eventually in my family tartan.  Recently, I have become obsessed with walking and working out (I wager I could leg-press almost 1,000 lbs).  I would like to start running again.

6 Responses

  1. Welcome. You sound like an interesting person. I look forward to meeting you and Katherine.

  2. As a philologist, it is important that you know you should not go walking in the English country side alone. You might get swept away to strange places where you meet people with names like, Oyarsa, and Tinidril. You won’t be seen again for a long time, most likely…

    …Hi, Ian. 🙂

    • I would love to get swept away to such strange places as these! Although, I would prefer to start off in the American country side. And who knows, maybe there’s a planet out there with a Malacandran geography and a Perelandran climate! 😀

  3. Enjoy the working out and running. I am 57 years old and I have a hard time bending over to tie my walking shoes. I also hail from Illinois albeit a lot longer than the time you spent. look forward to seeing you.

  4. Amanda and Ian…you two are nuts. I mean I loved C.S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy as much as the next person but really?! And Ian the not seeing you for a long time part just wouldn’t go well for me…I don’t suggest it, stay away from strange looking houses and especially if there are two men inside.

Leave a Reply

