Greetings-Finally

Hello all. My name is Mark Sievering, and I live in Murray, NE with Dena, my wife of 32 years. We have three grown children and four grandchildren. This will be my first class in the Christian Leadership program. My son John is also in this class, and I am excited about the opportunity to take this, and hopefully other, classes with him.

I have been employed in public education since 1983, and currently serve as superintendent of Conestoga Public Schools, a position I have held for the past seven years. This master’s program is the beginning of my preparation for my retirement/departure from public education in a few years. Though I don’t have a specific direction at this point, I want to be obedient to whatever God may have planned for me.

Playing guitar on our church worship team is one of my favorite hobbies. I also enjoy bicycle riding (Dena & I recently rode our tandem bicycle and completed “Tour de Nebraska” – a 300 mile ride over five days), and model railroading.

While I am excited about taking the class and being on campus, I am also somewhat nervous. It’s been fourteen years since I’ve taken a class of any kind, and I’ve only had two Bible classes, which were nearly 30 years ago. I’m counting on it being “just like riding a bicycle” . . .

Looking forward to meeting you all.

8 Responses

  1. Hi Mark and welcome back to the student side of school!

    I shared a similar concern on coming back to school after 30 years and so far I find myself more diligent and concerned with doing well compared to my college experience the first time around.

    This is my 10th class in the Masters program and I have truly enjoyed my experience at KCU. I look forward to meeting you and interacting with the class.

    Randy Wickham
    Wheelersburg, Ohio

    • Randy –

      Thank you!

      It is good to know that others are in similar circumstances-it is just a little intimidating, but I’m really looking forward to the class and the program.

      See you next week,

      Mark

  2. Welcome back to student-hood (cause that’s a real word…)! Sometimes following God’s leading takes us in funny directions, even back 30 years to school again. I expect you will do well, and even enjoy being a student again. I look forward to meeting you…

    Amanda

    • Amanda –

      Thank you – I’ll go with the word student-hood! I am definitely looking forward to be a student again, although I feel like i’m already behind . . .

      I look forward to meeting you also. See you next week.

      Mark

  3. Mark, I left the power industry about 3 years ago at the age of 54 and started in seminary at Lincoln Christian Seminary. I really hadn’t had a class as you mention for quite some time, maybe 25 years. It took a little while but it comes back. Especially in the service of the Lord, it is actually fun instead of drudgery that you may remember from years ago.

    The people and professors are so supportive and having your son in the class will be something special. Looking forward to seeing you in person. We live about 400 miles away in Illinois and are planning on camping at Carter Caves. I will be bringing my wife with me. In Christ, Bill Littrell.

    • Bill –

      As I told Randy, it is good to know that others are in similar circumstances. I am really looking forward to the classes and the program – at this point just slightly overwhelmed.

      My wife, as well as my son’s family, will also be traveling with us. This time around, we’re going the cabin route. However, my wife and I would like to buy a camping trailer (just sold our old 1967 model), and have considered buying one to stay in for modules. Maybe if we have a few minutes next week, I can ask you a few questions about your camping experience at Carter Caves.

      Looking forward to meeting you. See you next week!

      Mark

  4. Looking forward to meeting you, too, Mr. Sievering.

  5. Mark,
    Glad to have you as part of the KCU family. I find it very commendable when a person goes back to school after being out for several years. My prayers are with you. Don’t be nervous, we all at times feel like a fish out of water. I am 25 years old and I am working and this is my 17th graduate class, yet I am uncomfortable “blogging.” I am not against it, just not used to it. My personal bio is somewhere on this website, but you’ll have to look for it because I think put it in the wrong place. Anyway, I look forward to meeting you in person.

Leave a Reply

