Humbled

If I had my webcam on right now, you might see that I have the proverbial “deer in the headlights” look. I’m overwhelmed. I’m a bit nervous. I’m excited. I’m tired. I’m humbled.

Like many Nebraskans, I like football. But, I’m a casual football fan. (Nebraska Cornhuskers & Kansas City Chiefs – and I have a feeling this fall, I will add the KCU Knights to that list) I enjoy watching the games, but don’t get crazy about them like some people do. If the team I like loses a game, I realize the sun is still going to come up tomorrow – and if it doesn’t, we have way bigger problems than that a team lost a football game. As I ponder the upcoming season, I think about the undrafted rookies in NFL training camps across the country. I’m quite certain that many of them have the deer in the headlights look, too. I’m confident that many of them are having some humbling experiences. They’re excited as can be, but they’re not sure just exactly what they’ve gotten themselves into. However . . . if they’re smart, they know they can learn a great deal from veteran players.

In a small way, I empathize with them. As I’ve spent the past few weeks working on this class, I have: a) been excited b) wondered what I’ve gotten myself into c) been humbled. Just reading the depth of some of the posts on the blog creates all of the above. However, I’m going to choose to focus on c and a. I am humbled, but I am excited about what I can learn from this class, Dr. Alterman, and the “veteran players”.

Excited to meet you all on Monday! Until then, I remain . . . humbled.

One Response

  1. Remember our motto HIGH EXPECTATIONS, LOW ANXIETY.

    Don’t worry, we are not going to do what the Big Twelve did this year when it eliminated the two lowest performing teams.

    The chiefs have been rebuilding for 40 years–maybe this will be the year.

Leave a Reply

