What Authorship Issues?

I quote with interest the following statement of conclusion from Mangano’s commentary, as he quotes Robert Alter:  “…the paradoxical truth of the matter may well be that by learning to enjoy the biblical stories more fully as stories, we shall also come to see more clearly what they mean to tell us about God, man, and the perilously momentous realm of history.”   I have to assume that by quoting Alter, our commentary’s author agrees with this position.

If our reading of God’s Word results in greater knowledge, I think that’s a wonderful thing.  But if our use of His Word is simply a way to be more impressive at social gatherings or better able to take a test, then I think we’ve missed His point.  Bill L. used the following quote from Scripture and I think it fits in this blog entry as well:  Remember?  “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”  I mean, is our historically correct interest in “God-breathed Scripture” no more than simply a sign as to just how weak we are as followers of Christ?  We need to be reminded about what James says:  “He chose to give us birth through the word of truth, that we might be a kind of firstfruits of all he created.”  (1:18)

I kind of follow Kevin’s line of thought.  I had heard a few (several, maybe) years ago that Moses wrote the Pentateuch.  I mentally filed that bit of information away under the heading of, “O.K.”  Then during the time that I was reading Mangano, I happened to see a TV show on the Bible stating Moses wasn’t the author of the Pentateuch.  This pronouncement caused me to erupt with another mighty, “O.K., Moses didn’t write the first five books of the Bible.”  I have to admit that I didn’t lose one moment of sleep over that new bit of knowledge. 

We need to look at these “stories” and see how Abraham was a man of faith in his great desire to follow God and kill his own son, Isaac!  We need to emulate how Moses continued to keep the faith when his own brother used his great skill, given to him by God, to fashion a golden calf meant to dishonor God.  If you need a list of men of faith, check out the Hebrews faith chapter…chapter 11.  I don’t look at Moses and see a great author—I see an example by which to live, as humanly flawed as he may have been.

2 Responses

  1. Nicely said Randy! The character and faith can be revealed regardless if a name is revealed. I like your title much better than mine.

  2. Amen. I completely agree.

Leave a Reply

